My Daily Drive With My 5-Year-Old

(Substitute any word with any other word)

Adam: Mommy do you want to see a magic trick?

M: Sure.

A: You have to turn around and look.

M: I can’t turn around. I’m driving.

A: But mommy you have to look!

M: Okay, do it quick. (cranes neck)

A: (hides card behind his back) It disappeared.

M: Oh, wow! That’s clever.

A: Mommy why did you say that’s clever.

M: Because it was.

A: What does clever mean?

M: It means really smart.

A: Mommy that wasn’t really smart.

M: Oh.

A: So why did you say it?

M: I don’t know.

A: But you said it.

M: Yup.

A: But why did you say it?

M: (sighs)

A: Want to see another trick? Watch this.

M: Okay bud.

A: You’re not watching.

M: I can’t turn around. I’m driving.

A: But you turned around before!

M: There’s lots of traffic now, I have to concentrate.

A: But when can you turn around?

M: I don’t know. When I’m not driving anymore.

A: But that will be forever!

M: It might be.

…ad infinitum

Leave a Reply

